L’expression «voir la vie en rose» est utilisée pour décrire un point de vue naïf ou trop optimiste.

Mais moi, j’aime mes lunettes teintées roses et je préfère me concentrer sur les choses positives de la vie, surtout quand les temps sont durs.

Dans les années 80, j’étais étudiante à l’Université de Kent, à Canterbury, dans le sud-est de l’Angleterre, étudiant le français et l’italien.

Au cours de notre quatrième et dernière année, un de nos amis a organisé un défilé de mode étudiant dans un bar, avec des vêtements donnés par Benetton. On m’a demandé de défiler et je me suis pavanée, absolument terrifié, sur la chanson La Vie En Rose, chantée par Grace Jones. Je n’ai jamais voulu répéter l’expérience, mais la chanson est restée une de mes préférées.

Une chère amie à moi de ces jours d’étudiant, a récemment trouvé ces photos de moi.

Parlez d’une explosion du passé ……

La chanson est incluse dans l’album de 1985 de Grace Jones, Island Life, et la photo de couverture (ci-dessus) est l’une des images les plus célèbres de Grace Jones. Elle a été créé par son partenaire d’alors Jean-Paul Goude, à la main comme un collage à l’origine, car la photographie numérique n’existait pas encore.

L’arabesque incroyablement gracieuse est en fait un montage d’images séparées, suivant les idées de Goude sur la création d’illusions crédibles avec sa technique de découpe et de peinture. La position du corps est “anatomiquement improbable”. L’image a été initialement publiée dans le magazine New York en 1978 et utilisée par la suite dans le clip du single à succès de Jones “La Vie en rose”. Il a depuis été décrit comme “l’une des photographies les plus célèbres de la culture pop”.

À cette époque de ma vie, je n’avais que peu de soucis pour mon avenir. Bientôt diplômé, les opportunités d’emploi étaient nombreuses, j’allais m’installer à Paris pour vivre avec mon futur mari et les problèmes environnementaux étaient à peine sur mon radar.

Les jeunes d’aujourd’hui sont confrontés à un avenir très différent et incertain. Alors que nous nous adaptons à la crise sanitaire actuelle du COVID-19, il semble que beaucoup de gens, y compris moi-même, espèrent que c’est le signal d’alarme qui est si nécessaire pour revenir à un style de vie durable et plus lent.

La jeune femme sur cette photo ne savait pas qu’elle allait vivre le reste de sa vie dans un autre pays; elle ne savait pas qu’elle allait avoir un enfant handicapé dont elle allait passer vingt ans à s’occuper; elle ne savait pas qu’elle allait lutter contre une dépression profonde; elle ne savait pas que la planète était en train d’être détruite.

La jeune femme sur cette photo ne savait pas non plus qu’elle vivrait les trente-quatre prochaines années avec l’amour de sa vie; elle ne savait pas qu’être mère serait à la fois l’expérience la plus merveilleuse et la plus effrayante; elle ne savait pas qu’elle serait capable d’affronter et de traverser des moments très difficiles; elle ne savait pas que ces moments difficiles lui apprendraient tellement.

Ma sphère d’influence est très petite. Elle se limite à la façon dont je prends soin de ma famille, de mes amis et de mes animaux. Elle se limite à mes choix en tant que consommateur et électeur.

Que puis-je dire à mes filles soucieuses de l’avenir?

Enfin, pas grand-chose vraiment. Je n’ai pas de boule de cristal. Tout ce que je sais, c’est que de mauvaises choses arrivent, la vie n’est pas “une longue fleuve tranquille” ….

Mais …… je peux essayer de leur montrer que la façon dont nous pensons à notre situation est beaucoup plus importante que les circonstances de la situation.

J’ai donc choisi de croire que nous apprendrons, nous ferons mieux, que l’avenir de mes filles sera différent, mais aussi meilleur à bien des égards.

J’ai choisi de continuer à regarder à travers mes lunettes teintées roses ….

**********

Merci pour votre visite.

Prenez soin de vous,

Henrie

XOX

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

La Vie En Rose.

Mar 20, 2020 | France, Simple Things

The phrase “voir la vie en rose” is used to describe: “seeing life through pink tinted glasses”, a naive or overly optimistic point of view.

I like my pink tinted glasses and I’d rather concentrate on the positive things in life, especially when times are tough.

In the 1980s, I was a student at the University of Kent, in Canterbury, in the south east of England, studying French and Italian.

In our fourth and final year, a friend of ours put on a student fashion show in a bar, with clothes donated by Benetton. I was asked to model in the show and I strutted my stuff, absolutely terrified, to the song La Vie En Rose, sung by Grace Jones. I never wanted to repeat the experience, but the song has remained a firm favourite of mine.

A dear friend of mine from those student days, recently found these photos of me.

Talk about a blast from the past ……

The song is included in Grace Jones’ 1985 album, Island Life, and the cover picture (above) is one of the most famous images of Grace Jones. It was created by her then-partner Jean-Paul Goude,by hand as a collage originally, since digital photography did not yet exist.

The impossibly graceful arabesque is actually a montage of separate images, following Goude’s ideas on creating credible illusions with his cut-and-paint technique. The body position is “anatomically unlikely”. The picture was originally published in New York magazine in 1978 and subsequently used in the music video for Jones’ hit single “La Vie en rose“. It has been since described as “one of pop culture’s most famous photographs”.

At that time in my life, I had few worries about my future. As a soon to be graduate, employment opportunities were numerous, I was going to move to Paris to live with my future husband and environmental problems were barely on my radar.

Today’s young people are faced with a very different and uncertain future. As we adjust to the current COVID-19 health crisis, it seems that many people, including myself, are hoping that this is the wake up call that is so desperately needed to change back to a sustainable and slower life style.

The young woman in this photograph didn’t know that she was going to live the rest of her life in another country; she didn’t know that she was going to have a handicapped child that she would spend twenty years caring for; she didn’t know that she was going to battle with deep depression; she didn’t know that the planet was being destroyed.

The young woman in this photograph also didn’t know that she would live the next thirty four years with the love of her life; she didn’t know that being a mother would be both the most wonderful and the most frightening experience; she didn’t know that she would be capable of facing and getting through very tough times; she didn’t know that those tough times would teach her so much.

My sphere of influence is very small. It is limited to how I care for my family, friends and animals. It is limited to my choices as a consumer and voter.

What can I say to my daughters, who are anxious about the future?

Well, not much really. I have no crystal ball. All I know is that bad things happen, life is not “a long peaceful river” ….

But …… I can try to show them that how we think about our circumstances is far more important than the circumstances.

So, I chose to believe that we will learn, we will do better, that my daughters’ future will be different but also better in many ways.

I chose to keep looking through my pink tinted glasses ….

 

**********

Thank you for visiting.

Take Care,

Henrie

XOX

7 Comments

  1. beth

    Thank-you henri. I love that photo of GraceJones and always felt frustrated that I couldn’t do the same thing. She is so beautiful. I love your comments on being a Mother and your friendship.

    Reply
    • Henrie Richer

      Thank you Beth XXX

      Reply
  2. June

    I love seeing your youthful photos again, an interesting post with lots to think about. Keep looking through those rose tinted glasses. Here the song “We’ll meet again” is once more very popular in these troubled times, but at least we don’t have bombs raining down on us, yet!! We all have lessons to learn from the present experience, but peoples’ memories are often short.

    Reply
    • Henrie Richer

      Sara found them and sent photos of the photos to me, which was a lovely surprise.
      I fear you will be proved right about the desire to forget this happened afterwards.

      Reply
  3. Bill

    Henrie, this is a wonderful blog. You are a good publicist for “La Vie en Rose,” as I am forced by your sphere of influence to search Youtube for Grace Jones’ version of the song. And you are a good writer and thinker and fellow human being.

    Reply
    • Henrie Richer

      Thank you Bill xxx.

      Reply
  4. Philippe

    Merci Henrietta pour cet article plein d’émotion et de souvenirs. Tu peux être fière de la belle personne que tu es devenue. Grâce à toi à mes côtés je vis la vie en rose ! 💕
    Ton Philippe

    Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Archives

Categories

Prints and Photo Gifts

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This